Take Back America 2007 Reviews

Overall Ratings
The Conference Overall: 5.0 stars after 1 rating
The Sessions: 4.0 stars after 21 ratings
The Speakers: 4.0 stars after 7 ratings
The Content 5.0 stars after 1 rating
The Networking 4.0 stars after 1 rating
The Venue 4.0 stars after 1 rating
The Schwag 4.0 stars after 1 rating

RSS Feed RSS Feed

The Reviews

Show reviews about the conference overall
Show reviews about sessions

By: Thomas Senecal
on Jun 29 2007
at 01:03 PM EDT
4
Very Good
A review of the session "Sen. Hillary Clinton"

An excellent speech demonstrating that she is the best candidate for President, and she knows it. The only problem was the hecklers.
By: Thomas Senecal
on Jun 29 2007
at 01:02 PM EDT
5
Fabulous
A review of the session "Speaker Nancy Pelosi"

Speaker Pelosi gave a fabulous, responsive address in which she didn't just read from a copy but interacted with the audience (and even the hecklers!). It was a very inspiring speech covering a broad spectrum of important issues.
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 26 2007
at 09:41 AM EDT
4
Each speaker had unique perspective
A review of the session "The Blogosphere: From Ideas to Action"

Many times panels fail to provide a wide enough range of voices ... this proved to be an exception ... I'm sorry it doesn't appear to have been recorded.
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 26 2007
at 09:19 AM EDT
4
Well done
Easily could have been an all day session
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 26 2007
at 09:12 AM EDT
4
What a collection
A review of the session "The New Populist Energy"

Senator Sanders is the real deal when it comes to progressives ... he reminds me of Illinois Senator Paul Simon ... Senator Klobuchar is on her way to "Boxer" status and is someone I look to be in the highest leadership levels of the Democratic Party
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 26 2007
at 09:06 AM EDT
3
Progressive Bloggers Steal the Show
A review of the session "Gala Awards Dinner"

Digby was the star of the evening!
By: Mr John Jakulevicius
on Jun 21 2007
at 06:41 PM EDT
5
TBA07 Exceeded my expectations HUGELY
A review of the conference overall

One of the popular anti-war rally chants is "This is what democracy looks like." TBA07, my first, could easily adopt that phrase as its own. While I would have liked to see more "minorities" in the audience, I find it hard to suggest how I would have improved TBA07, even after the fact. I interacted with Air America President, Mark Green, the Nation's David Corn, MSNBC's David Schuster, all of whom who gave me straight-forward responses to my concerns in their area of influence. I thank them all. I saw all the speeches, and especially will remember Howard Dean's closing charge to Democrats. As they say, I took notes on that one ... valuable ideas on his winning strategies for progressives and for the Democratic Party. TBA07 has made me a smarter player on the Take Back America Team. But as a caution to all, democracy is still at risk in 2008 ... until the majority of Democrats realize that nearly all of the smoking guns of election fraud from many venues in our last three elections, are still very much in the hands of those ready, willing and able to do it yet again. The corporate media will again not help democracy in ferreting out crooked activities before, during, and after elections. We may yet be buried under Rove's "THE MATH" instead of the voter's math. As a final sobering thought, our position with American public opinion would be very different if the Bush/Cheney invasion and occupation of Iraq had gone well. The slide to the left still needs a lot of heavy pushing on our part.
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 09:05 PM EDT
4
Great way to end TBA2007
Rev. Jackson was outstanding ... Anna Burger did a wonderful job of talking about labor issues and telling stories .. Howard Dean was masterful with an ending designed to lower activists frustration level with Congress and the Democratic Party, to outline issues and objectives, and to inspire the troops ...
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 08:50 PM EDT
4
Watching Mondale II
A review of the session "Sen. John Edwards"

Check it out for yourself ... those of us old enough to remember Walter Mondale's failed run for the presidency will be quick to note similarities in the former Senators.
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 08:40 PM EDT
5
Time to Turn the Page
A review of the session "Sen. Barack Obama"

Be sure to watch the video yourself ... and think of President Obama giving a "State of the Union" ... WOW!!!
By: Anthony Daniels
on Jun 20 2007
at 05:22 PM EDT
5
Making College Affordable
Although I was a panelist for this session,I believe the timing to talk about this issue couldn't have been better. A special thanks goes to Bob Brandon for making this happen.
Everyone did an excellent job!
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 08:38 AM EDT
4
Much neglected area -- economic security
A very lawyer like presentation with just enough humor ... after seeing this presentation we all need to think what radical right wing "Coruplicans" would do if they ever get to their goal of privatizing Social Security ... Senator John Tester did not make it to the program so I gave him a 1
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 08:21 AM EDT
3
True to his convictions
A review of the session "Rep. Dennis Kucinich"

With an impressive introduction the Congressman from Ohio hit all his usual talking points ... with Iraq and his desire for a new foreign policy to be evidenced by a Department of Peace
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 08:17 AM EDT
4
Good overall stump
A review of the session "Sen. Hillary Clinton"

Perhaps it is because I compare her public appearances to her husband ... I'm biased ... I would have loved to hear her husband give the same speech ... given that bias ... her speech was dare I say it ... "Presidential" ... I hazard to say that almost the entire audience arrived with their very own pre-conceived notion of "Hillary" and ... when they exited few minds were changed
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 20 2007
at 07:35 AM EDT
3
Better than last debate
A review of the session "Governor Bill Richardson"

I note the set of former military brothers that did Gov. Richardson's intro were greeted by a standing ovation ... hardly the way liberals and progressives are portrayed by the radical right wing corporate media.
By: Jason Rozenblat
on Jun 19 2007
at 06:00 AM EDT
4
Gravel knows how to tell it
A review of the session "Sen. Mike Gravel"

Nice intro by Ralph Nader... Mike made it short and (not so)sweet, laying the hammer down. Very electrifying speaker.
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 19 2007
at 03:54 AM EDT
4
Good overall starting point for potential candidates
The session was well structured and carried the potential for helping prospective candidates at every level. While material is fairly standard the panel did a good job of making it interesting. My only fault was the need for more q&a time
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 19 2007
at 03:47 AM EDT
3
TBA missed a great chance
What a shame this resource was under appreciated by TBA ... no publicity = poor attendance
By: Shawn O'Donnell
on Jun 19 2007
at 03:39 AM EDT
3
Well done
A review of the session "Election Protection 2008"

Thanks to all the speakers and the moderator ... interesting and informative with real "to do" action items for progressives who care
By: Anne Pritchett
on Jun 18 2007
at 05:56 PM EDT
5
Absolutely wonderful session!
A review of the session "The Impeachment Process"

This was just terrific. The reasons we MUST impeach were clearly explained. And there were some great strategies shared as well.

The only negative was the location of the session but that was clearly not the responsibility of the presenters.

IMPEACH!!
By: Jason Rozenblat
on Jun 18 2007
at 02:10 PM EDT
5
Powerful
A review of the session "We've Got Issues: Young People in Action"

ALthough I came in towards the end of the session, I was able to catch the last 30 minutes of a very emotionally charged session. I think everyone in that room was moved by Mr. Pacheco's powerful speech. Excellent crowd participation as well.
By: Ian Mishalove
on Jun 18 2007
at 01:27 PM EDT
4
Great kick-off!
A review of the session "Our Time Has Come"

I thought the opening plenary was terrific!! I loved the opening video, and thought that Borosage laid out a convincing case re: the failure of conservatism and the GREAT opportunity that lies before progressives (right now!) to change the direction of our country.

Eli Pariser followed with a great point about not waiting for our elected leaders (even the Dems) to push the envelope -- because "We are the ones we've been waiting for!".

Also loved Andrea Batista Schlesinger's comparison of Voltaire's maxim (Don't let the perfect be the enemy of the good...) with her father's advice (Don't let the good be the enemy of the perfect.) to underscore the point that we're in the majority right now, and shouldn't just settle for setting!

Best opening in my 4 years of coming to TBA!

I just wish it was in a room that better matched the size and energy of the crowd. The Crystal Ballroom is a tough layout because the arched shape of the room breaks up the co-hesiveness of the audience and (in turn, I think) dissapates energy.

Small gripe though, because the content (which matters most) was excellent!

83,648

conferences

Anyone can add a conference to our database. Add a Conference
testimonials
 Our attendees asked why we didn't have Confabb Notes last year; it was so powerful they demanded it for next year. 

Christina Mott, Conference Organizer

Ruby on Rails Hosting by Engine Yard